Agenda Item 1c, Attachment 1

560th Policy Board Meeting Fargo-Moorhead Metropolitan Council of Governments Thursday, November 15, 2018 – 12:00 pm Metro COG Conference Room

Members Present:

Roger Buscher Moorhead Planning Commission Steve Gehrtz Moorhead City Council Eric Gjerdevig West Fargo City Commission Koerselman Horace City Commission John Jenny Mongeau Clay County Commission Olson West Fargo City Commission Brad Piepkorn Fargo City Commission Dave Cass County Commission Arland Rasmussen Dilworth City Council Spauldina Kevin

Sara Watson Curry Moorhead City Council (alternate for Brenda Elmer)

Members Absent:

Brenda Elmer Moorhead City Council Farao Plannina Commission Shara Fischer Fargo City Commission Tony Gehrig Fargo City Commission Tony Grindberg Gunkelman Fargo Planning Commission John Rocky Schneider Fargo Planning Commission Strand Fargo City Commission John

Others Present:

Adam Altenburg Metro COG Luke Champa Metro COG

Bernie Dardis City of West Fargo

Metro COG Dan Farnsworth Gray Metro COG Cindy Brenton Holper City of Horace Savanna Leach Metro COG Michael Maddox Metro COG Pierce Metro COG Anna

Bob Walton NDDOT – Fargo District

1a. MEETING CALLED TO ORDER, WELCOME, AND INTRODUCTIONS, convened

The meeting was called to order at 12:00 pm, on November 15, 2018 by Chair Rasmussen, noting a quorum was present. Introductions were made.

1b. Approve Order and Contents of Overall Agenda, approved

Chair Rasmussen asked for approval for the overall agenda.

MOTION: Approve the contents of the Overall Agenda of the 460th Policy Board Meeting.

Mr. Gehrtz moved, seconded by Mr. Olson.

MOTION, passed. 10-0

Motion carried unanimously.

1c. Past Meeting Minutes, approved

Chair Rasmussen asked for approval of the Minutes of the October 18, 2018 Meeting.

MOTION: Approve the October 18, 2018 Policy Board Meeting Minutes.

Ms. Mongeau moved, seconded by Mr. Gehrtz.

MOTION, passed. 10-0

Motion carried unanimously.

1d. Monthly Bills, approved

Chair Rasmussen asked for approval of the November 2018 Bills as listed on Attachment 1d.

MOTION: Approve the November 2018 Bills List. Mr. Spaulding moved, seconded by Mr. Gjerdevig. MOTION, passed. 10-0. Motion carried unanimously.

2. CONSENT AGENDA

Chair Rasmussen asked for approval of Items a-f on the Consent Agenda.

- a. October End of Month Report
- b. Horace Comprehensive and Transportation Plan Consultant Selection
- c. FM Bikeways Gap Analysis Consultant Selection
- d. MATBUS Transit Facility Analysis and Development Strategy Contract Amendment
- e. Agreement for services for Food Systems Planning and Implementation Efforts
- f. 2018 Metro Profile

MOTION: Approve Items a-f on the Consent Agenda. Mr. Spaulding moved, seconded by Mr. Gjerdevig. MOTION, passed. 10-0. Motion carried unanimously.

3. REGULAR AGENDA

3a. Public Comment Opportunity

No public comments were made or received.

No MOTION

3b. 2019-2020 Unified Planning Work Program

Ms. Gray presented the draft 2019-2020 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP). Mr. Piepkorn asked if this UPWP would reflect the MPO's transition into a TMA. Ms. Gray said the transition is not included in this document, however, feels confident in the staffing levels to work efficiently until around 2020-2021. Staff will utilize the Census data collected in 2020 to move forward into the transition.

MOTION: Approve the Draft 2019-2020 Unified Planning Work Program for submittal to NDDOT and FHWA for final review and approval.

Mr. Olson moved, seconded by Ms. Mongeau.

MOTION, passed. 10-0

Motion carried unanimously.

3c. High Tension Guardrail Projects

Mr. Walton presented the NDDOT High Tension Guardrail Projects. The high-tension guardrails will be similar to those found in Minnesota. Fargo, Grand Forks, and Bismarck areas will have the first median updates.

No MOTION

3d. Appreciation for Chair Rasmussen

Ms. Mongeau thanked Mr. Rasmussen for his service as the Metro COG Policy Board chair for 2018, as well as congratulating him on his upcoming retirement.

No MOTION

3e. Election of New Policy Board Chair and Vice Chair

Per the Metro COG Policy Board bylaws, a new chair and vice chair must be elected at the end of each term. Mr. Rasmussen's Commission term ends on December 3rd, pushing the Metro COG chair election up to November.

MOTION: Election of Jenny Mongeau (Clay County) as Chair, and Brad Olson (West Fargo) as Vice-Chair.

Mr. Gehrtz moved, seconded by Mr. Buscher.

MOTION, passed. 10-0.

Motion carried unanimously.

4. Additional Business

No additional business.

5. Adjourn

MOTION: Adjourn the 460th Meeting of the FM Metro COG Policy Board Mr. Olson moved, seconded by Mr. Buscher.

MOTION, passed. 10-0.

Motion carried unanimously.

The 460th Meeting of the FM Metro COG Policy Board held Thursday, November 15, 2018 was adjourned at 12:41 pm.

THE NEXT FM METRO COG POLICY BOARD MEETING WILL BE HELD December 20, 2018, 12:00 P.M. AT THE FM METRO COG CONFERENCE ROOM, ONE NORTH 2ND STREET, CASE PLAZA SUITE 232, FARGO, ND.

Respectfully Submitted,

Savanna Leach Executive Secretary

560th Meeting of the FM Metro COG Policy Board – page 3 Thursday, November 15, 2018